Club History

main image

The City of Melbourne Lawn Bowls Club was founded as The West Melbourne Lawn Bowls Club on 18 August 1866 at the Sabloniere Hotel, once on the corner of A'Beckett and Queen Streets, Melbourne.

The Club moved to the Flagstaff Gardens in 1879. In 1880, we were a foundation club when the Victorian Bowling Association (VBA) was formed.

Our inaugural president was Sir Charles McMahon, and the inaugural president of the VBA, Cr Sam Amess, was one of our bowlers. He was also a former Club president and a Lord Mayor of Melbourne.

The first VBA singles champion was also member of the Club and we have produced numerous state players since our inception.

The Club changed its name to City Bowling Club in 1904, and to the City Of Melbourne Bowls Club (CoMBC) in 1964.

In January 1994 fire destroyed a large part of our clubhouse, decimating our facilities, organisation and records. However, with the tireless support and dedication of club members, CoMBC regrouped and continued to operate and prosper, even with limited facilities.

Present Time:

With thanks to the City of Melbourne Council and Council staff, the opening of our new clubhouse in 2009 marked the completion of a journey which began in 1994. We welcome the City of Melbourne to our club.